Group

Version: 17.07

Supported Since: 17.01

A group is a category of users in IPS, assigned with a specific set of permissions for accessing/performing IPS resources/operations.

Additionally, projects can be assigned to different user groups in order to localize project management operations to individual groups (teams). A user of a given group will only be able to view, use and configure projects assigned to his/her group.

Creating a group

  • Navigate to the group list perspective via Access Control → Groups.

  • Click the Add (+) button on the top-right corner.

  • Click Yes for the session invalidation confirmation prompt.

  • Enter a name for the group (which, in case of LDAP mode, should match a group on the configured LDAP server).

    create group
    Figure 1. Create group
  • Select the roles that should be available for the new group.

  • Click Create.

Editing a group

  • Navigate to the group list perspective.

  • Click the Configure button against the LDAP group to be edited.

  • Click Yes for the session invalidation confirmation prompt.

  • Make necessary modifications to the group (e.g. changing the group name, selecting/deselecting roles).

  • Click Save.

Deleting a group

  • Navigate to the group list perspective.

  • Click Delete against the LDAP group to be deleted.

  • Click Yes on the confirmation dialog.

Assigning projects to groups

A project can be assigned to one or more groups,

Super admin group

In addition to custom groups, every IPS installation has a default AdminGroup with super admin privileges (i.e. permissions to perform all IPS operations, and access all resources, including all projects). The default admin login of the evaluation distribution belongs to this group.

If you remove any roles of the super admin group, you will permanently lose permission to all related operations. Hence if you detach ROLE_SUPER from AdminGroup you will lose all access to IPS on the evaluation distribution.
In this topic
In this topic
Contact Us